It seems that when deleting a timeline, using the slanted menu at the bottom, the website doesn't entirely recognise it as 'deleted'? So, in my experience that resulted in a file that couldn't be removed despite being empty, because it thought that it still contained the timeline.
Steps to Reproduce
Create a Timeline
Place the Timeline in a file, either during creation or after.