I can confirm this. The new editor saves it with the , while the old editor saves the exact same content without. Whichever editor I last saved the article in, impacts what the article looks like, even if I didn't touch the relevant parts at all.
NEW EDITOR:
<br /><span class="line-spacer d-block"> </span>
<br /><span class="line-spacer d-block"> </span>
<br /><span class="line-spacer d-block"> </span>
OLD EDITOR:
<span class="line-spacer d-block"> </span>
<span class="line-spacer d-block"> </span>
<span class="line-spacer d-block"> </span>
I am using Firefox on Windows myself.